Life in the Carpool Lane

Since Dave & I started OurLawrence.com over a year ago, we tried to keep it informative and relevant to Lawrence & surrounding area. Sadly, we lost interest after being so busy “doing” rather than “sharing”. We’re kind of stingy like that. I mean it’s really not interesting to our readers to hear about events after we attend them and I rarely find the time to post about things in advance. So anyways, we’re (as in “me”) taking a more personal approach to this blog. I can’t always guarantee this will be the direction that I stay in, but you know, for now, it works. On to my story:

I live in Lawrence and work in Overland Park. So for the past two years I’ve been scuttling along the K10, 435, and 69 twice a day, 5 days a week in traffic with Kelso (my partner in crime, and carpool buddy). Those that know me well are familiar with my normal bitching about commuting “38 miles one way” to work Monday through Friday. I thought it might be funny to share with you what I’ve/we’ve learned from carpooling.

Things I’ve learned from Carpooling:

  1. Carpool Karaoke is funner when you both know the song.
  2. Guys with pacifiers passing you on the K10 are not only fascinating but really creepy. “Why does that guy suck on a binky while he drives anyways? Drive faster & get away from him, STAT!” The craziest part is that we know he has to live in Lawrence.
  3. Always expect heavy traffic & asshole drivers whenever there is a decision to be made. “zOMG do I want to merge left or right? Oh noes! I don’t remember how to merge! This is a very important decision, I must go 25 mph til I sort this out. Was it the 435 or the 35?”
  4. Quivera always has drama no matter what time of the day you must past this exit. If it’s not a vehicle fire, a stalled car, ninjas,  a cop who finds it hilarious that no one will pass him going 45 mph in a 65 mph zone, an accident,  or sword fights, you can be guaranteed that it is definitely something lagging up the commute.
  5. Every day that we belt up and head into the wonderful world of carpooling we know that we are risking our lives and we both agree that we should receive “hazard pay” for the brave acts we perform daily on the dangerous roads with idiot drivers who must have gotten their licenses from cracker jack boxes. (Going off on a tangent here) One time a PT Cruiser who was going the opposite direction on the K10 flew across the center grass dividing area & headed straight for us head on. We both screamed & Kelso swerved. After he passed us, he crossed back over to his side & drove off. Yea, carpooling is at least that exciting once a month, every month. We’ve had blow outs, break downs, near death experiences & speeding tickets.
  6. Even the sweetest of people (i.e Kelso & I) can develop the worst symptoms of Road Rage and no soccer mom is safe.
  7. If it rains, snows or a cloud passes in front of the sun, Kansas drivers forget how to drive. I call this weather related amnesia.
  8. A cop going eastbound will not hesitate to flip a bitch in a heartbeat to pull your yellow car over going westbound for speeding.
  9. During the winter, commuting plays out like Hover Kart Battle or Mario Kart but with more carnage. You always feel like you’ve won if you make it to work and didn’t end up as a smoking wreck trailed by skid marks in the snow on the shoulder of the road.
  10. I honestly believe that Kansas must hold a record for the most vanity plates in any state. I’ve lived a lot of places in the U.S and never seen so many. Figuring them out is part of the fun. Just one of many carpool games we play.

– Kimberlee –

Edit: ernby says: @Jells I think NH is second behind Illinois or Virginia (or some other state) in vanity plates. Case in point: http://tinyurl.com/ybqedpt lol! Wikipedia has VA first, NH second, IL, third. I was close!

Thanks Erin 🙂

~ by ♥ Kimberlee ♥ on April 9, 2010.

5 Responses to “Life in the Carpool Lane”

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kimberlee. Kimberlee said: My newest blog post – My Life in the Carpool Lane… 10 things I've learned from commuting/carpooling http://tinyurl.com/yclp8z2 […]

  2. You have also seen the middle-aged gray haired man who drives on K-10 with a pacifier in his mouth?! I just Googled “K-10 pacifier man” and found your blog. I saw him for the third time in as many months today. He drives his old dark blue Toyota slowly in the right lane and looks over at me, binky in mouth, as I pass him in the left lane. I am intrigued (and a bit creeped out) by this!

  3. Oh gosh Gabrielle – Thank you so much for commenting. I honestly believe that other people thought we made him up. It’s nice to know that someone besides the crazy carpoolers from Lawrence have seen him as well. Haha!

  4. Are you still carpooling to and from OP? I am looking to join a carpool. Email: b21.jason@gmail.com. Thanks!

  5. I’m still commuting but not carpooling since Kelso no longer works with me. Where in the OP do you work?

Leave a Reply

 
